NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Saturday, December 16, 2017 07:14:04

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

If it's a new day, it's time for another R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout

A new day, another R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout
If it's a new day, it's time for another R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout
published: Tuesday, October 28, 2014 15:02 UTC

Another day and another R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout from active region 2192.  The R3 Radio Blackout peaked at 10:47 am EDT (1447 UTC) and was over by 11:09 am EDT (1509 UTC).  It was followed by an R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout a few hours later.  Communications problems in the Atlantic Ocean region were reported during the R3 storm.  Region 2192 has now produced a total of 23 M-class solar flares (R1-R2 Radio Blackout) and 6 X-class solar flares.  All of these were R3 Radio Blackouts.  Region 2192 remains capable of producing additional significant activity.  We will keep this page updated as activity occurs.