NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Sunday, October 22, 2017 22:46:22

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

Region 2192 with another R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout

R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout
Region 2192 with another R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout
published: Monday, October 27, 2014 15:05 UTC

The R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout that began at 5:07 pm EDT (2107 UTC) peaked at X3.1 at 5:41 pm EDT (2141 UTC).  The event was over by 6:13 pm EDT (2213 UTC) likely having caused communications problems for airlines and mariners in the Pacific Ocean region.  The figure shown is from the SWPC D-Region Absorption Product showing the regions of the globe that suffered from degraded high frequency radio communications during this R3 storm.  The largest active region since 1990, active region 2192 was responsible for this event and it remains a potent force.  We continue to monitor this region and all aspects of the Sun and will update this site if significant events occur.