NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 21:52:46

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

Minor (G1) Geomagnetic Storms Observed Due to Coronal Hole Effects

Minor (G1) Geomagnetic Storms Observed Due to Coronal Hole Effects
published: Monday, March 02, 2015 20:01 UTC

The Earth is feeling the effects of a recurrent coronal hole high speed stream.  Geomagnetic field activity has increased to G1 (Minor) geomagnetic storm conditions and G2 (Moderate) levels are likely between 0900 UTC ( 0400 EST) and 1300 UTC (0800 EST) on 01 March.