NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Saturday, January 20, 2018 04:39:52

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

Power Interuption at SWPC

Power Interuption at SWPC
published: Monday, August 03, 2015 14:21 UTC

On 29 July 2015 at about 1:35PM MDT (1935 UTC), SWPC experienced a sudden loss of power to all systems. The root cause of the outage is under investigation. As of about 4:30PM MDT (2230 UTC) all services, including GOES real-time space weather data, have been restored. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by this unexpected outage.  We did not fail over to our backup system as it was decided that it would be faster to recover systems in Boulder than to spin up our processing from a cold-start at our back-up site.