NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Saturday, December 16, 2017 06:54:54

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

G1 (Minor) Geomagnetic Storm Levels Observed

G1 (Minor) Geomagnetic Storm Levels Observed
published: Saturday, August 19, 2017 18:21 UTC

G1 (Minor) geomagnetic storm levels were observed at 02:59 UTC on August 19 (10:59 pm Eastern) due to continued coronal hole high speed stream activity.  A G1 (Minor) warning is in effect until 09:00 UTC (05:00 am Eastern).