NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Wednesday, April 08, 2020 00:25:55

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

Geoelectric Field Model Output Temporarily Offline

Geoelectric Field Model Output Temporarily Offline
Geoelectric Field Model Output Temporarily Offline
published: Wednesday, October 30, 2019 19:21 UTC

Geoelectric Field model product updates have been temporarily taken offline due to erroneous data input problems at the geomagnetic observatory in Fresno, California. The non-physical data from Fresno began on October 29, 2019, at about 1805 UTC (2:05 pm ET) and caused an artificial enhancement across the western half of the United States. The Geoelectric Field model was suspended as of October 29, 2019, at 2221 UTC (6:21 pm ET) and will not be updating until the issue has been resolved. Troubleshooting of this problem will continue and we hope to have the problem resolved later on October 30, 2019. Meanwhile, users of this product should be aware that the current space weather and geomagnetic environment are quiet and the enhancement in the model is purely artificial. Please continue checking other space weather information available on our SWPC website to find out the latest space weather conditions and forecasts.