NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Monday, September 25, 2017 09:52:30

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

G1-G2 (Minor-Moderate) Geomagnetic Storm Warning in Effect

G1-G2 (Minor-Moderate) Geomagnetic Storm Warning in Effect
published: Saturday, September 09, 2017 15:10 UTC

Although the CME effects appear to be weakening, we still have the potential for further G1-G2 (Minor-Moderate) geomagnetic storm levels through the night.  The G1 (Minor) geomagnetic storm warning has been extended through 1500 UTC (11:00 Eastern) on 09 September and the G2 (Moderate) storm warning has been extended through 0900 UTC (05:00 Eastern) on 09 September.