NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Friday, December 09, 2016 13:32:54

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

G4 Alert: Another storm reaches severe levels

G4 Alert: Another storm reaches severe levels
published: Wednesday, June 24, 2015 22:17 UTC

The geomagnetic storm began as forecasted and quickly ramped up to severe (G4)  levels.  SWPC issued the G4 Alert at 1858 UT (2:58 pm EDT), after the storm slammed into Earth at 1839 UT (2:39 pm EDT). This is the same intensity level reached in March, 2015 during the St. Patrick's Day storm.  This is the very early stages of an event that will play out over many hours, with SWPC forecasting continuing storm level intensities into tomorrow.  In Europe watchers should be looking for the aurora now and there is hope for those over the US tonight.  Stay tuned here, as there is more happening to tell you about.