NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Sunday, October 22, 2017 22:54:21

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

Déjà vu: 2192 Strikes Again

Déjà vu: 2192 Strikes Again
published: Monday, October 27, 2014 15:06 UTC

Region 2192 has erupted with its second R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout in the past 24 hours.  

The event peaked at the X1.0 level at 1:08 pm EDT (1708 UTC) and ended about an hour later at 2:11 pm EDT (1811 UTC).  The region is stable in size, but is being re-energized as new magnetic field emerges from beneath the surface.  This is the 4th R3 Radio Blackout from this region, but with none of these events having accompanying coronal mass ejections, there's no threat of Solar Radiation or Geomagnetic Storms.  Stay tuned here for updates as we believe this region has more in store.