NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Thursday, May 25, 2017 14:21:33

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

G2 (Moderate) Geomagnetic Storm Levels Observed

OVATION-Prime Aurora Forecast Model
G2 (Moderate) Geomagnetic Storm Levels Observed
published: Wednesday, March 29, 2017 10:05 UTC

G2 (Moderate) geomagnetic storm levels were observed at 10:24 UTC on 27 March 2017 (06:24 AM ET) due to coronal hole high speed stream activity. Most recently, G1 (Minor) geomagnetic storm levels were observed on 28 March, 2017 at 01:17 UTC (27 Mar, 09:17 pm ET) and again at 04:05 UTC (28 Mar, 00:05 am ET).