NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Saturday, July 22, 2017 00:44:47

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

Update: G2 (Moderate) Geomagnetic Storm Conditions Observed

Update: G2 (Moderate) Geomagnetic Storm Conditions Observed
published: Monday, July 17, 2017 18:53 UTC

UPDATE: G2 (Moderate) geomagnetic storm conditions were observed at 14:54 UTC (10:54 A.M. Eastern) and 19:57 UTC (3:57 P.M. Eastern) on 16 July due to continued activity from a coronal mass ejection that arrived earlier in the UTC day.  The G2 Warning has been extended and is now valid until 03:00 UTC on 17 July.