NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Sunday, April 22, 2018 05:13:01

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

G3 (Strong) Geomagnetic Storm levels reached with early CME arrival

G3 (Strong) Geomagnetic Storm levels reached with early CME arrival
published: Sunday, August 16, 2015 16:23 UTC

The CME associated with a filament eruption on August 12, 2015 arrived a little earlier than expected. An interplanetary shock was observed by the ACE spacecraft at approximately 0745 UTC (3:45 am ET) on August 15th. G3 (Strong) Geomagnetic Storm levels were reached by 1143 UTC (7:43 am ET), however, activity levels appear to be decreasing slightly as the initial phase of the impact passes. G2 (Moderate) Geomagnetic Storm conditions are still in progress as CME effects continue. Stay tuned for updates!