NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Saturday, August 06, 2022 11:09:23

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

G1-G2 (Minor-Moderate) Storm Conditions Met on 14 April, 2022

G2 Storm 14 April, 2022
G1-G2 (Minor-Moderate) Storm Conditions Met on 14 April, 2022
published: Saturday, April 16, 2022 03:53 UTC

A G2 (Moderate) geomagnetic storm began at 12:45 pm EDT (1645 UTC) on 14 April, 2022. G1 (Minor) storm levels first occurred earlier, at 7:59 am EDT (1159 UTC). This activity is associated with the anticipated arrival of an 11 April coronal mass ejection (CME). The CME arrived at the NOAA DSCOVR spacecraft, about 1 million miles from Earth, early on 14 April. While an interplanetary shock ahead of the CME was not clearly observed, total interplanetary magnetic field (IMF) strength gradually intensified to 20 nT and the Bz component (magnetic field orientation) turned into a prolonged, pronounced southward direction. Enhanced solar wind conditions continue to show the potential for elevated geomagnetic responses to the G1-G2 levels and Watches remain in effect for 14-15 April. Continue to follow our webpage for the latest forecasts, information, and updates.