NOAA Logo

NWS Logo

Organizations

Space Weather Prediction Center

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Wednesday, November 30, 2022 02:04:19

Main menu

NOAA Scales mini

minimize icon
Space Weather Conditions
24-Hour Observed Maximums
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Latest Observed
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
R1-R2 --
R3-R5 --
S1 or greater --
G
no data
maximize icon
R
no data
S
no data
G
no data
Current Space Weather Conditions
R1 (Minor) Radio Blackout Impacts
close
HF Radio: Weak or minor degradation of HF radio communication on sunlit side, occasional loss of radio contact.
Navigation: Low-frequency navigation signals degraded for brief intervals.
More about the NOAA Space Weather Scales

S1 (Minor Solar Radiation Storm) on 28 March, 2022

S1 Event on 28 March, 2022
S1 (Minor Solar Radiation Storm) on 28 March, 2022
published: Tuesday, March 29, 2022 19:19 UTC

An S1 (Minor) solar radiation storm began on 28 March, 2022, at 9:25 am EDT (1325 UTC). This event was associated with an M4 flare nearly 2 hours earlier at 7:29 am EDT (1129 UTC). An S1 Warning was issued at 28/1203 UTC in anticipation of reaching this activity level and currently remains in effect until 29/0600 UTC. Please continue to follow our SWPC webpage for any additional information and updates.